News

WiFi on Wheels

WOW rectangle logo

WiFi on Wheels pilot service is part of Internet Access Initiative: Bridging the Digital Divide, a project which will expand to include WiFi extension at libraries, and WiFi hotspots for check out. For the pilot, one vehicle will provide broadband for up to 150 users each within a 300-yard radius and will be parked at pre-designated locations each week. 

A kick-off event will take place at the Westminster Library located at 8180 13th Street, Westminster, CA 92683 on Tuesday, October 20, from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. The Westminster Library is the first branch of OC Public Libraries to extend WiFi beyond library walls and check out wireless hotspots for library cardholders.

The WiFi on Wheels pilot program will launch with neighborhoods in Midway City and Westminster, and expand to Stanton, La Habra, La Palma, and San Juan Capistrano in the coming months. OC Public Libraries’ WiFi on Wheels will hit the road on Tuesday, October 27, and be available near the following locations:

 

  • DeMille Elementary

15400 Van Buren Street, Midway City, CA 92655

Tuesday, October 27, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.  -  4 p.m.

Tuesday, November 10, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Tuesday, November 17, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

 

  • Fryberger Elementary

6952 Hood Drive, Westminster, CA 92683

Wednesday, October 28, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.  -  4 p.m.

Wednesday, November 11, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Wednesday, November 18,  from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

 

  • Schmitt Elementary

7200 Trask Avenue, Westminster, CA 92683

Thursday, October 29, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.  -  4 p.m.

Thursday, November 12, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Thursday, November 19, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

 

  • Willmore Elementary

7122 Maple Street, Westminster, CA 92683

Friday, October 30, from 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.  -  4 p.m.

Friday, November 6, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Friday, November 13, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Friday, November 20, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

 

  • Sid Goldstein Freedom Park

14180 All American Way, Westminster, CA 92683

Saturday, October 31, from 9 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Saturday, November 7, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Saturday, November 14, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Saturday, November 21, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

 

 

http://ocpl.org/WifiOnWheels