OCCOmmunity. Our Commitment. Resources

DYLAN WRIGHT DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY RESOURCES

#### CYMANTHA ATKINSON

DEPUTY DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY RESOURCES & INTERIM DIRECTOR OC ANIMAL CARE

RENEE RAMIREZ DIRECTOR OC COMMUNITY SERVICES

#### JULIA BIDWELL

DIRECTOR OC HOMELESS, HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

STACY BLACKWOOD

DIRECTOR OC PARKS

HELEN FRIED COUNTY LIBRARIAN OC PUBLIC LIBRARIES



OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR 1770 NORTH BROADWAY SANTA ANA, CA 92706-2642 PHONE: 714.480.2788 FAX: 714.480.2899 OC PUBLIC LIBRARIES – LIBRARY ADVISORY BOARD MEETING OF THE FULL BOARD THURSDAY, MAY 17, 2018 4:00 P.M.

> OC Public Library Headquarters Conference Room B 1501 E. Saint Andrew Place Santa Ana, CA 92705

# **FINAL MINUTES**

# MEMBERS PRESENT

### OCPL - CITY REPRESENTATIVES

Christine Marick (Brea), Paul Wyatt (Dana Point), Melissa Fox (Irvine), Michael Blazey (La Habra), Kathy Flachmeier (La Palma), Joe Rainey (Laguna Woods), Dwight Robinson (Lake Forest), Michael Vaughn (Rancho Santa Margarita), Beckie Gomez (Tustin), Kimberly Ho (Westminster).

# OTHER ATTENDEES

### COUNTY STAFF ATTENDING

Cymantha Atkinson (Deputy Director, OC Community Resources), Helen Fried (County Librarian), Connie Chang (Manager, OC Community Resources Administration), Veronica Yeste-Alarcon (Strategic & Financial Planning, OCCR/OC Public Libraries), Ann Luu (Budget & Fiscal, OCCR/OC Public Libraries), Alex Martinez (Asst. to the County Librarian, OC Public Libraries).

# MEMBERS NOT ATTENDING

#### **OCPL – CITY REPRESENTATIVES**

William A. Phillips (Aliso Viejo), Jim Righeimer (Costa Mesa), Stacy Berry (Cypress), Stephanie Klopfenstein (Garden Grove), Cheryl Brothers (Fountain Valley), Steve Dicterow (Laguna Beach), Melody Carruth (Laguna Hills), Elaine Gennaway (Laguna Niguel), Josh Wilson (Los Alamitos), Lori Donchak (San Clemente), Kerry K. Ferguson (San Juan Capistrano), Mike Varipapa (Seal Beach), Rigoberto Ramirez (Stanton), Robert Collacott (Villa Park).

# I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Beckie Gomez called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m. and led the members in the Pledge of Allegiance. There were no announcements.

# **II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF JANUARY 12th MEETING**

It was moved (Carol Moore) and seconded (Christine Marick) to approve the minutes of the January 12, 2016 Library Advisory Board (LAB) meeting with the following changes: Add that the Library Advisory Board will be provided with the Strategic and Visioning background information. The motion was passed; with the following members abstaining: William Phillips, Paul Wyatt, Michael Blazey, Elaine Gennaway, Josh Wilson, Rigoberto Ramirez, and Kimberly Ho.

# III. NEW BUSINESS

A. Nomination of Committee Members. Chair Gomez opened the floor to nominations for six members for the Executive Committee. It was moved (Carol Moore) and seconded (Elaine Gennawey) with the nomination of the following members: Christine Marick, William Phillips, Stacy Berry, Paul Wyatt, Michael Blazey, and Michael Vaughn. The motion was approved by all members with no abstentions.

- B. Approval of Fiscal Year 2017-18 Budget. Helen Fried, County Librarian, gave a detailed presentation of the proposed budget. Ms. Veronica Yeste-Alarcon and Helen Fried answered questions from the members. After some discussion, it was moved (Melissa Fox) and seconded (Paul Wyatt) to recommend the approval of the proposed FY 2017-2018 Budget by the OC Board of Supervisors. The motion was approved by almost all members, with no abstentions and just one member, Carol Moore opposed.
- C. Election of Task Force Committee. Chair Gomez opened the floor to nominations for the Election of the Task Force Committee. The following members were nominated: Michael Vaughn (nominated as the Chair), Christine Marick, Melissa Fox, Michael Blazey, Lori Donchak, and Kimberly Ho. It was moved (Carol Moore) and seconded (Josh Wilson) to elect these members to the Task Force Committee. The motion was approved by all members with no oppositions and no abstentions. A staff member will reach out to Michael Vaughn to set up the first meeting.

### **IV. BOARD COMMENTS**

There were no board comments.

#### **V. PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

#### **VII. ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 5:06 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Alex Martinez on 06/14/17 Reviewed by Helen Fried, County Librarian on 06/14/17 Approved at the Library Advisory Board Meeting on 01/25/18